Home » ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced : Time, Fixtures and more

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced : Time, Fixtures and more

by OnverZe
0 comment

Along with the ten sites for the massive tournament, which will take place in India over the course of 46 days later this year, the schedule for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 has also been made public.

On October 5, England will play New Zealand in a rematch of the 2019 World Cup Final in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

On October 8, hosts India play five-time World Cup champion Australia in Chennai to open their campaign.

The showcase tournament will feature a total of 10 teams, the first eight of whom have previously qualified through the Cricket World Cup Super League. The Qualifier competition in Zimbabwe, which ends on July 9, will determine the remaining two slots. The top four teams advance to the knockout stage and semifinals after each team plays the other nine teams in a round robin style.

Major Fixtures

In addition to the thrilling opening match and India’s match against the 2019 semifinalist Australia, the tournament features full with pivotal contests.

Australia takes against South Africa on October 13 in Lucknow with the hope of turning the tables on the Proteas after a thrilling match in the previous edition. The much awaited match between India and Pakistan is set for Sunday, October 15, in Ahmedabad. In their most recent World Cup match, India triumphed resoundingly in Manchester after a high-scoring contest.

On October 20, Pakistan will play Australia in Bengaluru, while on October 21, England will play South Africa in Mumbai.

On October 22 in the gorgeous Dharamsala site, India will take on New Zealand in an effort to revenge their semi-final loss from the previous year, while on November 4 in Ahmedabad, Australia will take on their bitter rivals England. Four years prior, the reigning champions destroyed the Australians to go quickly to the final.

On October 29, England will be welcomed in Lucknow by India, who only last year defeated England in the 2022 T20 World Cup semifinal. On November 12, England will play Pakistan in Kolkata for the group stage’s last game.

Knockout Stages

On November 15th, the first semi-final will take place in Mumbai, while the second semi-final will take place in Kolkata the following day. There will be a spare day for each semifinal

The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the Final on November 19, with November 20 set aside as a backup date.The first match in each of the three knockout rounds will start at 14:00 local time.

Tournament Venues

Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Mumbai, and Kolkata will be among the ten locations. The warm-up games will be played in Hyderabad, Guwahati, Thiruvananthapuram, and Thiruvananthapuram from September 29 to October 3.

You may also like

Leave a Comment